Fall 2021 

Friday, August 27 at 3:10 pm

Graduate Students Ian LaCroix, Conner Langeber, and Kilsia Mercedes will present "Structural Studies of Histones, RNA viruses, and Trauma: Graduate Student Research Perspectives"

Host: Prof. Brian Bothner

Friday, September 3 - OPEN

Friday, September 10 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Blaine Roberts (Emory University) will present "Ion Mobility Mass Spectrometry Reveal Hidden Post-translational Modifications of Amyloid Beta in Alzheimer’s Disease Brain"

Abstract: Part of the quest to understand neurodegenerative research requires a detailed accounting and measurement of the biological components in neurological cells, tissue and biofluids. Regulation of the abundance of proteins is one mechanism of regulating function and post-translational modification (PTM) is another. PTMs are often invisible to targeted assays like ELISA or westerns this includes modifications including phosphorylation and, more recently, the hidden isomeric modifications (e.g. iso-aspartate). Here we apply quantitative proteomics and ion mobility mass spectrometry to investigate the isomerization of amyloid beta peptide from human brain tissue. To our surprise we discovered that isomerization at aspartic acid makes up over 80% of the total peptide in Alzheimer’s disease brain.  We show that the implementation of quantitative mass spectrometry and ion mobility reveal hidden biology and improve our understanding of the role of amyloid beta peptide in Alzheimer’s disease. 

Host: Prof. Ed Dratz

Join us in the Byker Auditorium or by WEBEX 

Friday, September 17 at 3:10 pm

Dr. Paul Galatsis (Vibliome Therapeutics, Bozeman, MT) will present "Discovery and Preclinical Profiling of LRRK2 Kinase Inhibitors for the Treatment of Parkinson’s Disease."

Abstract

Parkinson’s disease (PD) is the most prevalent movement disorder and second most common neurodegenerative disease.  Genome-wide association studies (GWAS) have confirmed that leucine-rich repeat kinase 2 (LRRK2) gain of function mutations represent the most common cause of familial PD.  This presentation will illustrate how medicinal chemistry enabled a greater understanding of the LRRK2 biology associated with PD by discussing the identification, optimization, and preclinical profiling of potent, orally active, and brain penetrant LRRK2 inhibitors.

Host: Dr. Garrett Moraksi

Join us in the Byker Auditorium or by WEBEX

Friday, September 24 at 3:10 pm

Mandatory Reporter Training for Graduate Students.

Policy 507, Board of Regents Policies and Procedures requires the university to provide training on sexual harassment and the campus policies and procedures for reporting sexual harassment.  TAs, GTAs, GRAs are required to complete the training.

Ms. Jessica Feltner, Case Manager for the Office of Institutional Equity at MSU will lead the required training. 

Join us in the Byker Auditorium or by WEBEX

Friday, October 1 at 3:10 pm 

Prof. Michael Learner (Oregon State University) will present "Graphite – A Review of Intercalation Chemistry and Some New Compounds Using Electride Solutions"

Abstract: Graphite is the first and perhaps the most well-studied intercalation host, and this chemistry is important for energy storage. But compared to other layered hosts, graphite chemistry and graphite intercalation compounds (GICs) show some unusual properties and have a more extensive range of guests. The application of these chemistries for anodes other than in Li ion cells, or for cathodes, appears promising but unsolved challenges remain. This talk will give an overview of the chemistry of graphite intercalation, describe our work preparing new acceptor-type graphite fluoroalkylanion GICs, and then go into more recent work on preparing GICs with group 1 and 2 metal cations from electride solutions.  

Host: Prof. Nick Stadie

Join us in the Byker Auditorium or by WEBEX

Friday, October 8 - OPEN

Friday, October 15 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Rob Paton (Colorado State University)

Host: Prof. Matt Cook

Friday, October 22 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Uttam Tambar (UT Southwestern)

Host: Prof. Matt Cook

Friday, October 29 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Rock Mancini (Washington State University)

Host: Prof. Matt Cook

Friday, November 5 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Mary Watson (University of Delaware)

Host: Prof. Sharon Neufeldt

Friday, November 12 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Will Broderick (Montana State University)

Host: Prof. Joan Broderick

Friday, November 19 at 3:10 pm

Graduate Student Jenna Mattice (Montana State University)

Host: Prof. Brian Bothner 

Friday, November 26 - HOLIDAY

Friday, December 3 at 3:10 pm

Prof. Dan Weix (University of Wisconsin)

Host: Prof. Sharon Neufeldt

Spring 2022

Friday, January 21 SPECIAL TIME @ 8 am  

Prof. Cornelia Welte (Radboud University, Nijmegen)

Host: Prof. Roland Hatzenpichler

WEBEX only

Friday, January 28

Friday, February 4

Friday, February 11

Friday, February 18

Friday, February 25

Friday, March 4

Prof. Kim See (Caltech) 

Host: Prof. Nick Stadie

Friday, March 11

Friday, March 18 SPRING BREAK

Friday, March 25

Friday, April 1

Friday, April 8

Friday, April 15 NO CLASSES

Friday, April 22

Friday, April 29

Prof. Jeff Bandar (Colorado State)

Host: Prof. Matt Cook

Friday, May 6